top of page
Search

Breast cancer: Casting for reflection, research, rejuvenation




Several years ago, my husband introduced me to fly fishing. Daniel is a great teacher, but I think possibly he unintentionally, maybe intentionally, tried to sabotage me.

When I was lucky enough to hook a fish, I had to switch hands to reel it in for landing. I am confident the fish that got away were bigger than any he ever caught.

Daniel is left-handed and it wasn’t until I went fishing with my son, Tanner, it was discovered that my reel needed to be switched to the other side of my rod. Thanks, Tanner, for your expertise!

Although reeling in a fish became somewhat easier for this right-handed gal, there is indeed an art to fly-fishing. Forgetting to pay attention to my surroundings, I sometimes create a few (many) tangled knots in my line. But sometimes the wind blows and therefore it just happens.

It is a laborious process of untangling the fly. My impatience wants me to just yank the line, but usually that ends with a lost fly and a knotted and unusable leader. I have learned it is best to take my time winding the fly in and out of its loops and curves until it is straight again.

Standing in the Jackson River and casting a fly requires focus, balance and patience. There is always the hope of hooking and landing a beautiful rainbow or brown trout.

The phenomenon of a free-flowing and ever-changing river directs me to witness the incredible glory of the Sovereign God. Time spent on the river tends to rejuvenate and provide solace for the ever-changing details of my life. Fly-fishing adventures create opportunities for deeper pondering and the restoration of my soul.

Reflection causes me to consider my role in life and how I can impact the lives of others. I desire to bloom where I am planted and embolden others to bloom where they are planted as well.

Sending condolences to families (Becky Reed) who have lost loved ones to breast cancer. Hugs and prayers to those currently in the battle and shouts of praise with those who are in remission. Kathleen, my favorite sister, along with many others I know, are courageous, inspiring women.

According to recent statistics, breast cancer accounts for 12.5 percent of all new annual cancer cases worldwide, making it the most common cancer in the world.

There are currently more than 4 million women with a history of breast cancer in the United States. This includes women currently being treated and women who have finished treatment.

The disease affects one in eight women in the United States every year and 2.3 million women worldwide.

Incidence rates in the United States began decreasing in 2000, after increasing for the previous two decades.

Breast Cancer Awareness Month, held in October every year, aims to promote screening and prevention of the disease.

Many organizations offer support for women in all stages of treatment and recovery and give financially toward research in finding a cure.

Founded in 1996 in Manchester, Vt., by a breast reconstruction surgeon and a professional fly fisher, one such group is Casting for Recovery. Retreats offer opportunities for women to find inspiration, discover renewed energy for life, and experience healing connections with other women and nature.

We all like our lives to be comfortable, familiar and free of tangles. But whether self-induced or caused by the turbulence of the wind, circumstances can cause many loops and curves.

In the midst of their tangled lives, I am inspired by those women who persevere with focus, balance and patience through the effects of this disease.

Although a process, perhaps it is during those laborious times that life can be rediscovered and where opportunity arises for reflection on the many blessings.

As Tom Brokaw said, “Fly fishing may not be the cure for all that ails you, but it’s a good place to start.”

bottom of page