top of page
Search

Granny the Queen: A source of comfort, faith, renewal




Throughout history, tea has been used as a medium of exchange, medicinal purposes, and for rejuvenation.

The people of Southeast Asia were thought to be some of the very first to enjoy the pleasures of tea and the Chinese and Japanese are known for their elegant tea parties. The British believe that a cup of tea helps in any distressing situation and is the essence of comfort.

Steeped and served steaming hot or poured over ice and served with delightful tastes is a tradition that dates way back. I prefer a cup of hot, ginger-peach tea with a freshly-baked, orange-cranberry muffin.

Every American has been watching the news these past several days as the media shares with us about the life of Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor, or Queen Elizabeth II. Her poise, grace and eloquence will be forever etched in our memories.

Based on the numerous stories shared about her life, I gather that she indeed was a remarkable woman. I read that no matter where she was in the world, she always stopped in the afternoon to enjoy a cup of Earl Gray tea.

When I was a little girl, I dreamed of traveling across the ocean to Great Britain to join Queen Elizabeth II for a cup of afternoon tea! I saw a recent photo taken of the queen and she reminds me so much of my granny, of whom I have been reminiscing about these past few days.

I have yet to travel to England, but I have been to a palace and had tea with a queen! I remember so well all the beautiful and rich memories of my queen, granny. I was so blessed to have my maternal grandparents living close by my home, where I grew up. Visiting with them was such a delightful experience, and I often felt like a princess while in their palace!

Traveling to their royal residence to drink tea with the royalty, above all, my granny, was a highlight of my childhood, adolescent, and teen years, and I didn’t have to travel across the ocean! I am thankful that it only took my mom about twenty minutes to drive me there.

Granny knew that a flavorful cup of tea required a few essential steps, and she was precise with the details. Filling the stainless-steel kettle with fresh, cold water and heating to a rolling boil was the first step. The anticipated whistling sound was the signal that it was time to remove the kettle from the heat.

While waiting for the water to cool for a few moments, a tea bag (or one teaspoon of loose tea in an infuser) was placed in a 6-ounce cup. Then the water was poured over the bag or leaves just below the cup’s rim. Steeping took only a few minutes for the full-bodied flavor to be released.

The bag was removed and a teaspoon of sugar or honey was added and oftentimes a splash of milk to enhance flavor. The wonderful aroma of homemade, fresh-baked pound cake or muffins filled granny’s kitchen, and the scrumptious treats added sweetness to our tea time.

She did her very best instructing me on proper tea-party etiquette and how to be a well-mannered sipper!

A favorite remembrance is of her sharing extraordinary memories from ordinary things. A delicate china teacup from her first set of dinnerware, a silver teaspoon, a handmade crocheted doily, and her baby ring were just a few of the things that were of personal value.

Her speaking and talking while reminiscing about her past were entertainment during our tea time, and I quickly learned to listen and sit and sip quietly. Time slows down for no one, and I soon grew up!

Adulthood and marriage soon became a beautiful part of my well-being. I fostered a mature appreciation of those times well-spent with granny. I began to realize that she was not only serving me tea but implanting into my soul her selfless love and years of insight as a wife, mother, and grandmother. She was teaching me how to persevere during the difficulties and heartaches of life.

One year after my marriage, a tragedy in the life of my youngest brother changed the dynamics of my entire family unit. Injuries sustained in a single-vehicle accident left him void of all motor function. Years of him being a quadriplegic, due to a closed-head injury, left us all spinning in a sea of emotions.

Busyness took on new meaning as bearing children entered my life. The challenges of learning to be a wife and mother were welcomed with boundless gratification. Although, tending to the needs and demands of others were at times, overwhelming.

Actively serving in the church, participating in extracurricular events, working part-time in a dental office and helping with the needs of my brother in addition to responsibilities of family was for sure a juggling act. There were days that I thrived and days that are just a blur.

The realization that life was not all about my wants and needs soon transformed my thoughts, actions, and time into an all-out feat!

Embracing the dynamics of commitment to my family was laborious and exhausting, requiring substantial momentum and strength ~ much like a trapeze artist performing balancing acts on the tightrope!

Comfort in a cup, and some days, an oversize mug filled to the brim was the remedy, and I knew just where to go! A trip to the palace to have tea with my queen was still a few short miles away. Granny always welcomed and served me so graciously and willingly.

Upon leaving, I felt mentally refreshed and rejuvenated. I was ready to prepare and serve another week of meals, pack countless lunches to go, change several more diapers and conquer a sleepless night or two ~ just to name a few of my domestic duties!

My heart remains joyful and full as I hold dear those precious times of granny pouring out her love to me while serving those cups of warming comfort. Greater are the life lessons and the warmth of her affection and compassionate empathy that was shared with each cup that she poured. I savor her words of wisdom, demonstration of servanthood, continuous encouragement, unselfish support, and of course, our tea time!

Yes, life has thrown me a few curve balls and oftentimes the emotional anguish from difficult circumstances are overwhelming. I continue to savor my tea time and often reminisce about my time with granny and ponder the wisdom that guided each conversation with every cup.

For her, 92 years of life brought much joy, heartache and grief. Many times, we would pray together, praising God for his goodness and asking him to “give us today our daily bread” (Matthew 6:11 ESV). The death of her husband of sixty years caused a considerable time of turmoil and grief in her remaining years.

Although granny didn’t always share openly about her faith in God, I did learn and know that the Lord was her Shepherd and that his rod and staff gave her lasting comfort. Often she would quote the twenty-third Psalm pointing out that God did sustain her in the heart-wrenching trials of life and that she knew she was never alone.

I hold in high regard the strength of granny, my queen, who, in the face of trials, persevered and produced a greater good in me.

Through my years of a relationship with Christ, I have learned that real and everlasting comfort doesn’t come from a cup. Through the faithful, Sovereign God of this universe, I find hope and am sustained in the difficult times of life.

A passage in Lamentations affirms the full assurance of God’s unfailing love, and it renders me great consolation. “Because of the LORD’S great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The LORD is my portion; therefore, I will wait for him.’ The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD” (Chapter 3:22-26 NIV).

When the trials of life wreak havoc on my mind, heart, and soul, I remember that the LORD is the all-sufficient one and that it is in Him that I have renewed and eternal hope. Continuing to ‘steep’ in the presence of the LORD guarantees that He will always be my comfort.


bottom of page