top of page
Search

Inspired by nature, great outdoors, my soul sings


I have an appreciation, curiosity, and love for nature. Outdoor adventures to hidden nature escapes, getting outside to rev up or wind down is paramount for the well-being of my mind, body, and soul.


Embracing what all four seasons have to offer, I tend to discover something worthwhile no matter the weather.


When my children were growing up, going out to enjoy nature was a vital part of our family dynamics. There were occasions one would vocalize their desire to stay indoors, myself included, but we ventured on. Even in the chaos, we all seemed to enjoy what the great outdoors provided.


The long, cold, dark evenings of the winter months yielded the anticipation of going to bed and waking up to white precipitation and a snow day! Donning a coat, hat, gloves, boots and heading out to build a snow family, have a snowball fight or create a few snow angels was pure delight.


The exhilarating and fun time of sledding down Grandma Seays' driveway is a pastime my kids reminisce about often. She served with love the best homemade hot chocolate, deliciously delicious grilled cheese sandwiches, and Campbell’s tomato soup. I have some big shoes to fill!

When the kids were older, hitting the ski slopes for a downhill adrenaline rush was top priority. I read one time where a snowflake is one of God’s most fragile creations but look what they can do when they stick together. Woo-hoo!


Flying a kite in the backyard, hiking in the woods, merriment at a park all lead the way for activity in the warmer weather of spring.


Douthat State Park and Lake Robertson in Lexington were our backyard for glamorous tent camping during those lazy (not at all) days of summer. Kayaking down the Jackson River and body surfing in the Atlantic Ocean were ways we found to turn off the noise in our minds.


Surrounded by hues of red, yellow, and orange, the autumn season was welcomed with Friday night football, bonfires and s’mores and, of course, wild game hunting for some.


Although our time spent outdoors was often exhausting, it brought our family together. It all was worth the effort.


Escape the to-do list and get outside! Breathe some fresh air. Create moments that matter. Appreciate the details in nature. Your family will benefit and there will be no regrets.


Embrace the frosty chill of winter, and comfortable, warmer temperatures of spring. Tolerate the hot, humid days of summer and look forward to the crisp, cool air of fall.


Although my three little Seay's have left the nest, the outdoors continue to beckon me. Nature sparks my sense of wonder and inspires me in my relationship with the Creator. God is revealed by his glorious nature and every part shouts out to me his glory causing my mind to spin.


A friend recently had the most awesome experience. She was in the upper peninsula of Michigan several weeks ago and witnessed a spectacular show of the Northern Lights. The photos she captured and shared were just beautiful. I am sure being an eyewitness provided stunning views to the human eye. I have read where the spectacular view of these lights are one of Mother Nature’s most magical sights, but also one of the most unpredictable.


Lori said this about her experience: “The night that I saw the Northern Lights was a very awe-inspiring experience! I knew there was a good chance I would see something that night based on the Aurora forecast, but I expected it to be a faint glow on the horizon. Instead, the night burst open with ribbons of dancing light that eventually grew to cover the entire sky. It was truly the most amazing natural phenomenon that I personally have witnessed. I hope to have another Aurora Borealis encounter some day!”


Wow! I must confess my extreme envy. My husband, bless his heart, hears me say quite often, “Honey, I really want to travel to Iceland to see the Northern Lights!” Some day.


Let me put aside my jealousy and share with you what I have been blessed to see out in nature: Twinkling stars in the sky on a winter night. Pansies covered with frost. Fresh falling snow. Trees budding at the first hint of spring. Vivid colors of wildflowers that really are wild!


Cascading waterfalls. A rainbow after a summer thunderstorm. Stunning sunrises. Lightning bugs that light up the night. Panoramic mountain views of autumn foliage. Sunflowers that transform the landscapes of fall. Spectacular sunsets.


All are only the beginning to nature’s incomprehensible vastness.


My absolute favorite hymn is “How Great Thou Art.” I did not know until after some research that the song originally was written as a poem.


In 1885, Carl Boberg, a Swedish editor and future politician, was walking home. Thunder shook the air and lightning flashed across the sky, sending him running for shelter. When the storm began to relent, he rushed home. He opened his windows to let in the fresh air. The sky had cleared and the vision of tranquility that greeted him stirred something deep within his soul. In the distance, he heard the sound of church bells ringing. He sat down and wrote, “O Store Gud,” the poem that later became “How Great Thou Art.”


“O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder, Consider all the worlds Thy hands have made; I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder, Thy power throughout the universe displayed."


“Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee, How great Thou art, how great Thou art. Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee, How great Thou art, how great Thou art!”


My soul sings!



(photo from Lori Kahila)


bottom of page