top of page
Search

Laughter is, indeed, the best medicine to get you by




Think of the most joyful person that you know. What makes them smile, laugh? How does their attitude affect their days, your days? How does one cultivate a joyous, satisfied life?


I think of Mr. William “Bill” Hemp Jr. He was a devout Christian man who had a spring in his step and a heart the size of Texas. He exuded an inner peace and genuine radiance that in my humble opinion, is rare.


My perception is that the Bible was indeed the bedrock of Mr. Hemp’s faith and he trusted in and depended on the Word of God to guide, teach him along life’s path. Most often, from memory, he would share scripture or a noteworthy poem, that in retrospect, offered precepts and truths while providing profound insight for my life.


Mr. Hemp had a contented temperament and cheerful mindset, exemplifying a godly perspective that certainly strengthened my faith. His joyful attitude literally permeated the air with the fragrance of a life filled with the love of Christ.


He knew the value in finding a silver lining amidst the chaos. His personal stories turned the corners of my mouth upward more than once. Conversations with Mr. Hemp were indeed delightful.


I read that Christ-followers are given a powerful gift of the fullness of joy in the Lord. A joyful heart comes from deep within and is good for mind, body, and soul. Joy is the inward working of God and laughter is the physical sign.


There is no doubt in my mind that Mr. Hemp knew that “a joyful heart is good medicine” (Proverbs 17:22 ESV) and he probably laughed a lot. In my humble opinion, King Solomon knew that laughter is an antidote for what ails the heart and soul.


In early March of 2022, my husband and I made a last-minute decision to head south to revel in coastal life only because there was a shortage of frozen precipitation in the form of white fluff necessary for skiing. The best of times occur when you just “wing it.”


Located in Beaufort County, S.C., Hilton Head is a barrier island 20 miles northeast of Savannah, Ga., and 95 miles southwest of Charleston. The island is named after Captain William Hilton, who in 1663 identified a headland near the entrance to Port Royal Sound. The quaint and quiet island of Hilton Head features 12 miles of white sandy shoreline along the waters of the second-largest of the world’s five oceans.


Flip flops on my feet, beach chair slung on my back, I was ready for some vitamin-sea. These four eyes of mine gazing at the never-ending horizon over the expanse of that deep and wide Atlantic ocean created a sense of awe and wonder.


Inhaling fresh salt air to boost immunity along with some relaxation by the seashore was just what the doctor ordered. What I didn’t know was that there was a prescription filled with my name on it waiting to be picked up at the beach.


Voted best pizza on Hilton Head Island, TJ’s Make and Bake Pizza makes it fresh and you make it hot! Their pizza is “not just a product, but a work of art!” The owner does indeed take great pride crafting an “original slow-rise dough to a preservative free sauce and farm fresh toppings.”


I don’t care for sandwiches while on the beach but pizza, yes.


Me: “We should order a pizza from TJ’s.


”Daniel: “OK, sounds good to me.”


Daniel not only called in an order, but went to pick up the pizza, baked and then hand-delivered the gourmet treat to me on the beach. Service at its finest! My husband is the best and you should be jealous.


Other than the sound of dancing tides I was looking forward to a quiet evening by the seashore. Well, what was I thinking?


These days, all of us are in need of a good chuckle. A few scenes from the Seay-Beak Buster comedy act will tickle your funny bone. You may just laugh a few of your feathers off.


Take 1. Scene 1.


Although I was hangry, I did what any considerate wife would do. I handed my dearest a napkin, plate, cold drink and then served him the very first slice of the fresh baked delicacy.


Scene 2


Aiming to get comfortable, I plopped down onto my chair. I dove into the box and served myself. I was looking forward to eating a piece of that Italian pie. Life is good.


Scene 3


Wait. I did not invite anyone to join us for dinner. Or, did I? Lo and behold, a medium-sized white bird with gray feathers and a black marking on his tail appeared. It then decided to perch in the sand directly in front of me.


Scene 4


Like Houdini, the squawkster appeared and then quickly disappeared. I am so gullible. Ha! Just as I was about to chomp down, that sneaky little thief swooped in from behind me and took, not just a bite, but the entire slice of my pizza!


Scene 5


Needless to say, I was the one doing all of the squawking! Spouting out a few choice words (no judgment, please) to that darn bandit drew attention to not only the people around me but to a few stout, thin-legged, fine-feathered friends.


Scene 6


Several gulls meandered up to my chair hoping to join in on a game of beach-bawl. I was the one bawling. I was smarter with the second slice.


Embracing a variety of behaviors and attitudes, seagulls are boisterous, clever, full of personality. These birds can detect food from over three miles away. They also have the reputation of being kleptomaniacs.


Laugh if you may, but it wasn’t your pizza that was stolen! Possibly helping others alleviate the pressures from the day-to-day grind is a gift. You’re welcome.


Who would have ever known that a beloved sea-bird known for its dive-bombing antics and talent for stealing food right out of human hands would teach me to just laugh.


Sunday, April 14, is National Gardening Day. Plant some seeds of laughter into your garden of life and cultivate a merry heart daily. Spoonfuls of laughter make the medicine go down in the most delightful way.


Chuck Swindoll said, “Laughter is the most beautiful and beneficial therapy God ever granted humanity.”

bottom of page