top of page
Search

Mayhem of a Christmas past: Let the countdown begin



How is it even possible the yuletide season of 2022 is upon us? I am beginning to think that time really does fly.

It was December of 2000 and my lack of attention to details, along with the choice to procrastinate, contributed to some Christmas mayhem that wasn’t so merry. I literally was running around like a chicken with its head cut off!

Let the countdown begin.

December 21

Now, I did know who had been naughty or nice and the list had no need for being checked twice.

There weren’t any packages decorated with pretty paper, pretty ribbons of blue, and most likely, there wasn’t even a pretty pencil to write I love you. The tree was not adorned with silver and gold, nor were cookies baked for jolly St. Nicholas of old.

Shopping is not an enjoyable task for me, so waiting until the last minute to buy perfect gifts for the ones I love was (is) the norm.

Oh, yes, in case you were wondering: a Norway spruce had not yet been cut. Santa had not begun his shopping either. Slackers.

Against my better judgment, I headed out with my three children, then ages 9, 6 and 2, to conquer the obvious. What was I thinking? My optimistic outlook would soon be put to the test.

Hours (kid time) later, what began as an adventure had turned into an all-out feat. Finally, gifts and groceries were in the cart and ready for purchase. All I had to do now was wait patiently in the checkout line with everyone else who was also on a mission. I am so glad I wasn’t alone in my endeavors.

Those unique and precious gifts loaned to me by the gracious creator God had other ideas on their agenda. Sudden outbursts of frustration were a free show of chaos at its finest.

Standing in the long line, there was a new rendition of the “I have to go to the bathroom 10 minutes ago” dance, a boisterous voice chanting the need for food as the hunger pains intensified, and the all-time begging of the Hershey bar.

Give credit where credit is due. The marketing pitch for setting up a “sugar bar” in the checkout lane was a diabolical plan for sure. Those people deserve a standing ovation.

My past-due tantrum of kickin’ and screamin’ only added to the havoc. I tend to think my meltdown was not acceptable by those watching from behind. Mind your own business.

Is patience really a virtue? Bah, humbug!

I managed to unload items in the cart for purchase. I am indebted to the cashier as I didn’t have to go through self-checkout because there weren’t any. There was a bag boy ready and willing to fill the bags and place them in a cart. A special mention of gratitude to that young man.

I was so encouraged (not really) when a woman behind me said, “Wow, you have your hands full.”

The statement was one I had heard many times before and often just laughed. That particular day, I remember being annoyed and feeling defeated, bursting into tears.

I managed to write a check to pay for the stuff, get it all to the vehicle, and loaded up. I hope my kids were grateful I did not leave them at the store.

Finally, all were buckled in and off to home, sweet home, we went.

Thank goodness my husband was home to unload and comfort me in my sorrows. He gently reminded me we still had a few days until Christmas.

December 22

Snow falling, we loaded up in our Ford Windstar minivan and meandered to a tree farm in West Virginia to find and cut down the perfect tree. Our annual picnic of ham rolls and hot cider took place and then onward to home. The tree fit perfectly in the stand, lights were strung, and gifts wrapped.

December 23

No worries, Santa shopping was accomplished! The tree was finally decorated with ornaments and cookies were baking in the oven. There is nothing like being ahead of schedule.

Christmas Eve was still one day out. Just relax!

Sometimes there are the unplanned, unwelcomed, unfortunate events that come out of nowhere. My youngest brother had a life-threatening health crisis and off to the hospital I went.

I remain thankful for those friends who stepped in to help with the care of my children. Blessings to Karen and Tammy for setting aside their own agendas to share Christ-like love to my family during a holiday crisis.

December 24

Hours of being at the hospital added to my exhaustion but I trekked on. Although, festivities were light-hearted, memories were made. Previous traditions were halted and we did make it to bed early so Santa could come.

December 25

Merry Christmas!

In our home, the story of the birth of Christ is read prior to any opening of gifts. Prayers were offered up for the glorious gift of Jesus.

Gifts were exchanged and opened as usual. Although I cannot recall the menu, a meal was still prepared and served. It was a hectic and difficult day, but we were able to savor a bit of joy in the journey.

I did learn a few lessons that year and tried to acquire a new perspective for earlier preparations. My nest is empty and I do have more free time on my hands. But some things never change. I still prefer to put off today what I can do tomorrow.

Through all the holiday hoopla, there can be much stress. When it becomes too tumultuous and you’re feeling a little frazzled, stop and consider the meaningful joys of the holidays.

Think of those special gifts of people who bless your life every day of the year. Go for a drive looking at decorations and light displays while singing carols.

Sit in the comfort of your own home sipping hot cocoa. Find joy in the heartache. Embrace the real reason for celebrating Christmas.

Years ago, a famous poet from the Seay tribe shared this poem:

Christmastime

Christmas is that time of year

when friends and family all draw near.

People rush to the mall

hoping to find the best present of all.

Christmas Eve, snow falling down

watch as the kids all play around.

Candy canes, cookies, hot chocolate,

and more

the room is filled with treats galore.

Everyone loves the joyous season

but just remember, Jesus is the reason.

The poem is displayed on a card and has remained a part of my decorations for many years now. I need to be reminded often to remember.

I am now in a “grand” part of life. The excitement my two little ones bring to my home help make the season of Christmas the most wonderful time of the year.

Wow, my hands are full!



bottom of page